Social Icons

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Written on

Review: Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare; Darren Shan

Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare
by; Darren Shan

In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

Quote:
Steve was the center of attention that Friday. The whole class crowded around and begged for his story. They wanted to know what had poisoned him, how he'd survived, what the hospital had been like, if they operated on him, if he had any scars, and so on.

young adult | horror { genre
All Ages { rating
June 1, 2002 { date released
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (266 Pages) { edition
borrowed { acquisition
Amazon.com { @ purchase

Why exactly I picked out this book?
I was being pick on by my own curiosity and this has been sitting in my TBR for way too long of a time and it kinda nags now since it has a movie version of it. 


My Thoughts ♠♠♠♠♠I have avoided this series for a while now, since I thought I have had read one way too many vampire series. Honestly, it took a while after the movie came out too, but I can't stand seeing it there.. telling me to pull it out.. read it especially when I have been rewatching the movie like crazy - out of boredom *yes*

My first reaction? Yes Sir! I was disappointed to see the movie was kinda off from the book itself. But I must say one thing. I love the book! Regardless this series kinda start off a bit um.. weird for me, but it has been quite an experience. What I must mention here is, I have read 6 books from this series before I actually started writing this first review of it. I can say one thing, the book itself is NOT a stand alone book from the series, it depended on each other, because after a couple of books, Darren stop explaining who is who, what is what, which is which. You would be lost at what's going on. So I suggest any readers interested in this series should start from the first book.

What you can expect is... friendship gone astray, betrayal; yes, of course a circus featuring "Cirque Du Freak", Snake boy, beard lady. and then some. It started like any other normal story.. a boy with his friends, then boy sneak out with best friend to a Cirque Du Freak. More sneaking around. Then stealing. then close to death experience, and then broke up a friendship... and of course death by a deadly spider!

But that's not the end.. that's the beginning of everything. Darren Shan, died so he could live (reluctantly) as the creature of the night as a Vampire's Assistant to Mr. Crepsley. Darren Shan thought he could live his life as a half-vampire like a normal kid. But when Darren fell out when his best friend was just heartbreaking to read. Especially when his best friend was said to have bad blood by Mr. Crepsley!

It is a fast read for me, and I ended up wanting to read the next book as soon as I finished this one. I found myself so wrapped up, there are points I actually gasped at the horror of what's happening,  of course there are some scenes, that would caught me by surprise that left me in dismay. Humor isn't left out from this particular book. I found myself so pulled in into the story I can't help reading it where wherever, and whenever I could! Yes, I am that kind of book worm. I actually enjoy reading it!

Librarian Muse
This has been one of the most wanted series in the library I'm working at, so I guess it would be a good addition as any school library there it, who students are very keen into the Horror Genre. But I must warn you librarians out there, this is one series, you can't get without getting at least the prior books if you're set into getting one of this books in the middle of the series.
Share this case:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Authors Featured

Abd Ghaffar Aris (1) Adam Mansbach (1) Aimee Carter (5) Alan Benjamin (1) Alethea Eason (1) Alex Flinn (2) Alice Sebold (1) Amy Reeds (1) Andrew Clements (1) Andrew Thompson (1) Arthur Golden (1) Brynn Paulin (1) Cait London (1) Carol Grace (1) Carrie Ryan (1) Cary McNeal (1) Cat Marsters (1) Cathy Glass (1) Cerise DeLand (1) Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1) Chris Marie Green (1) Claudia Gray (1) Clement Clarke Moore (1) Clive Barker (1) Clive Cussler (1) Connie Dieken (1) Daniel Handler (1) Darren Shan (5) Dav Pilkey (1) Dave Pelzer (1) Davis Brinton (1) Deborah Howe (1) Deborah J. Ross (1) Delphine Minoui (1) Desiree Holt (1) Dita Parker (1) Doreen Cronin (1) Dr Seuss (1) ED Baker (1) EL James (1) Elizabeth Smart (1) Ellen Rimbauer (1) Emma Thompson (1) Farrar Straus Giroux (1) Gail Carson Levine (1) Glen Cook (1) Greg Weisman (1) Hannah Shah (1) Hans Christian Andersen (1) Hazel Hutchins (2) Isabelle Drake (1) J.K Rowling (3) Jaid Black (1) James Howe (1) James Patterson (1) James Rowe (1) Jay Asher (2) Jeff Kinney (3) Jennifer Brown (1) Jessica Day George (1) Joan Holub (7) Jodi Picoult (2) Kami Garcia (4) Kate McMullan (1) Kathleen Kuiper (1) Katie Piper (2) Katina Abram (1) Kevin Hopps (1) Laurann Dohner (1) Laurell K Hamilton (1) Leigh Branham (1) Lemony Snicket (3) Lily O’Brien (2) Linda Hudson-Smith (1) Lisi Harrison (1) Louise Rennison (1) Maggie Stiefvater (1) Margaret Stohl (4) Margaret Wise Brown (1) Mario Acevedo (1) Marion Zimmer Bradley (1) Mary Downing Hahn (1) Mary Engelbright (1) Melanie Rawn (1) Michael Buckley (3) Michael Thomas Ford (1) Michele Albert (1) Mike Allred (1) Morgan Kaufman (1) Muhammad Miqdad (1) Nicholas Rennison (1) Nujood Ali (1) O Henry (1) Paige Tyler (1) Patrick Jennings (1) Paul McAuley (1) Peter Bentley (1) Peter Boxall (1) R. Garland Gray (1) Rachel Hawkins (2) Rachel R. Russell (2) Richard Bachman (1) Rick Riordan (14) Roald Dahl (1) Robert B. Parker (1) Russell Lee (1) Ruth J Morehead (1) Sarah Burleton (1) Sarah Graves (1) Shannon Hale (1) Sherrilyn Kenyon (1) Stephen King (3) Stephenie Meyer (1) Steve Berry (1) Susan Beth Pfeffer (3) Suzanne Collins (3) Suzanne Williams (4) Tamar Jalis (1) Todd Strasser (1) Tony DiTerlizzi (1) V.C. Andrews (5) William Panek (1) Yangsook Choi (1)
There was an error in this gadget

Sorting it all

* Other than Reading √ 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die √ 1001 Children's Books √ 101 Great Books Recommended for College-Bound Readers √ Man Booker Prize Winner √ Newbery Medal √ Nobel Laureates in Literature √ Pulitzer Prize Winners Novel/Fiction ♦ Creating a Reader 1: In the Mail 1: Mailbox Monday 1: Manic Monday 1: Monday Mayham 1: Musing Monday 1: What are you Reading on Mondays 2: Teaser Tuesday 2: Top Ten 2005 2007 2009 2010 2010 Challenges 2011 2011 Challenges 2012 2012 Challenges 3: A - Z Challenge 3: I Want Wednesday 3: Waiting on Wednesday 3: Wednesday Media Mix 3: Wishlist Wednesday 3: Wordless Wednesday 3: WWW Wednesday 30 Day Book Challenge 30 days Meme 4: Booking Through Thursday 4: TBR Thursday 4: Thursday 13 5: Friday Fill-Ins 5: Friday Finds 5: What's in Your Handbag? 7: Straight out of the Camera Sunday 7: Sunday Salon 7: Sunday Stealing 7: Unconscious Mutterings A Year in Picture Books 2011 About Reading Abuse Addicts Adult Afghanistan Africa Animal stories Animals AREs Arthurian Articles Asia Atheneum Author A Author B Author C Author D Author H Author J Author L Author M Author N Author O Author P Author R Author S Author V Author W Awareness Day Biography Bloggiesta Book Blogger Hop Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge 2011 Book List Book Pile BookFair Bookmarks Books taught me that... Brunei Business Chapter Books Children Chinese Christmas Chunky Tales Classics Comic Review Community Computer Contact Crafts Crafts and Hobbies Dark Humor Doa Dracula Drama dystopia eBook Egypt Mythology Eh? Emma Thompson Erotica Europe Event Fairy Tales Family Issue Family Saga Fantasy Fiction Food Frankenstein Free Giveaway Friday Hop Genres Gluttony Greek Mythology Habits Health and Beauty Horror Humor Inspirational iPhone Islam James Howe Journal Juvenile Kindle Legends List Literary Literary Blog Hop literature Lycans Magazines Malay Meme Memoir Middle Grade Misc Misc Brunei Motivation Movie Movie Adaptation Mystery Mythology New Author Challenge 2012 New Year Read-A-Thon News Newspapers Non-Fiction Organization Origami Orphan Out with a Bang Read-A-Thon Paranormal Period China Photos Picture book Pictures poster Quotes Ramadhan Rants Read it Read-A-Thon Reading Reading Habits Reading List Realistic Fiction Reference Relationships Reluctant Readers Resources Review Review by Title Review Policy rip Roman Mythology Romance School Science Fiction Seller Shifter Challenge 2011 short stories Social Issues Sony Reader Study Tips Stuff Supernatural Teens The Reader The TwentyEleven Challenge Thriller Tied-Ins: Movie Tied-Ins: TV To be Read To Be Read A-Z Tragedy Trailers Trivia True Crime TV Adaptation TV Review TV Series Vampires Vietnam Vlog Vocabulary What's in a Name Work ww2 WWI YA of the 80s and 90s Challenge Yemen Young Adult

~* Others *~

Children's Choice Book Awards

Powered by JacketFlap.com

.:: Listening to